Friday, 5 March 2010

S. Darko 2: Let me in

'Let the right one in' was undoubtedly the best film of 2009, for me at least, so image my utter disgust and heartbreak when I heard a U.S remake was in the works, not even 6 months after it's mainstream release no less! I mean, at least they usually wait a couple of years or so before they slaughter an original japanese horror movie.

However, my fellow prepubescent vampire love story fans, I believe we have encountered (and survived!) an emotionally trying and frustrating predicament similar to this before...

Remember a few years ago when it was announced there was going to be a 'Donnie Darko' sequal and everybody was repulsed for weeks, unable the shake the almost blasphemous abomination that we would later learn to be 'S. Darko' from their minds? Yeah. Whatever happened to that? A 3.9 rating on imdb, a 00% fresh rating on rotten tomatoes, and a straight to video mess that nobody would ever see, that's what!

Why? Because it was s**t! And entered a territory it really shouldn't have been messing about in; the world of brilliant, smart, iconic, legendary, superb films that don't require being remade or a sequal.

You can see where this is going. Fear not 'Let the right one in' fans, I say! For I predict that which they call 'Let me in' will replicate the outcome of 'S. Darko' and be hated, poorly received and career-ruining move for all involved, the way it should be.

No comments:

Post a Comment